COPPER ABC

INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE COPPER MARKET.

WHETHER CATHODE OR WIRE ROD – COPPER IS A MUCH SOUGHT-AFTER RAW MATERIAL.

Copper is currently the most important industrial metal. Whether for cables, transformers, electric motors or in information technology – the copper requirement rises continuously.

The fact is: Strength of global economy and copper consumption are closely interlinked and have a direct influence on the available quantity and on the price at the raw material stock exchanges. The London Metal Exchange, called the LME, is the relevant trading venue for the European market.

Rohstoff Kupfer: Kupfer-Nugget, Kupfererz

COPPER CONSUMPTION

The demand for copper is currently on the rise again. The upswing of electromobility will certainly boost the demand for copper in the years to come.

Almost half of the copper mined worldwide is still processed in Asia, whereby China adopts a key role as a copper consumer here with a share of more than 48 percent. The worldwide largest centres for the production of electrical appliances as well as for the electrotechnical industry are located in Asia – with upward tendency.

COPPER MINING

The most important copper producer is Chile, followed a long way behind by Peru and the USA. In Europe there are noteworthy reserves in Poland, Portugal and Sweden.

SPECIALIST TERMS ABOUT TRADING AT THE METAL STOCK EXCHANGE AND THE COPPER MARKET IN A NUTSHELL: THE COPPER ABC

The language of brokers is rather special. If you are not used to the jargon on the metal exchange such as the LME in London, terms like price hedging and many others may overwhelm you. By providing this copper ABC we would like to contribute to a better understanding.

A

ASTM

American Standard for Testing Materials. Official body in the USA for the determination of standard values for the purity of metals and of standards for sampling and analysis.

B

Backwardation

Designation of the price for prompt or nearby dates as opposed to three-month or later dates. There is no restriction on backwardation. (Backwardation such as Contango (see there) might be particularly high or low for various days within the period involved; they must not progress in a linear manner from spot to three-month.)

Bars

see Wirebars

BSI

The British Standards Institute, the official body in Great Britain for the determination of standard values for the purity of metals and of standards for sampling and analysis.

Brand

All exchange-traded metals must be registered in terms of a trademark as a “good delivery” by the LME Committee. (Listed Brand) Various specifications of qualities of the brand of a certain smeltery or refinery can usually be recognised by different markings.

Bull

Someone expecting increasing prices.

C

Cash

An LME contract billed on the following day.

Cathode

Electrolyte copper with at least 99.99% CU in the form of a cathode. Intermediate product for the manufacture of wire rod, for example.

Comex

Commodity Exchange. New York metal exchange

Contango

Price for three-month or later dates as opposed to spot or close delivery dates. It represents the costs resulting from interest, warehouse rent and insurance for the period in which the metal is stored for the customer. There is, therefore a limit for the Contango.

D

DEL listing

German electrolyte copper listing for guiding purposes. Value converted based on the official listings at the LME. Basis of many copper billings in Germany.

H

Hedging

Coverage of a future obligation for delivery of physical metal by entering into an opposing obligation on the stock exchange for the same quantity and the same date. Losses on the one side are balanced by gains on the other side.

Holdings

see Stocks

K

Kerb

Trading between ring members in the ring or on the floor – and therefore public, but outside the official midday or unofficial afternoon sessions, but observing the formal codes of conduct. The term originates from the time when negotiations continued on the street after the trading sessions at the LME.)

Kupferabbau, Kupfermine, Rohstoff Kupfer
L

LME

London Metal Exchange.

Long

Forward purchase on the stock market, through which the person involved goes “long” in metal for a certain date. This may be speculative in expectation of increasing prices, in order to resell the long position at lower prices, or it may be coverage of exchanges for an opposite obligation for delivery of physical metal.

Lot

Quantity unit for trading at the LME. 1 lot = 25 to.

M

Metal exchange

Metal exchanges at which a liquid market for copper exists. Are situated in London (LME) and New York (Comex). The prices at the Comex are principally valid for deliveries in the North American markets, those of the LME for the rest of the world.

MK listing

Listing for copper issued by the Company Kabelmetall.

P

Pre-market

Transaction of the ring members between one another or between ring members and their customers, which are concluded by telephone prior to the beginning of the official ring session. (Premarket)

Pricing

Use of the official LME listings or their average for a certain period as the basic price for physical metal.

Prompt date

The day (always a workday), on which an LME contract matures.

R

Ring

Place in the London stock exchange building of the LME where the official trading session is held. (The metal dealers sit on a red leather couch in the shape of a ring)

Ring trading time

The ring trading times for copper are as follows: 12.00-12.05 / 12.30-12.35 15.30-15.35 / 16.10-16.15 (These times refer to the local time in London)

S

Semis

Semi-finished metal product such as tubes, rods, etc.

Settlement Price

The official spot seller price at the end of the second ring of the official midday stock exchange. Used as the basic price for physical metal transactions concluded outside the LME. Also used among other things as the basis for the calculation of the DEL listing.

Short

Short sale forward, opposite of “long”.

Stocks

Metal on warehouse warrant in an official LME warehouse. The LME stocks, whose total volume or change is published on a daily basis, are not owned by the stock exchange but by the holders of the warrants.

Storage facility

see Warehouse

W

Warehouse

Roofed storage room with appropriate safety provisions, which has been registered by the LME as an official LME storage facility after inspection. Meanwhile there are licensed LME warehouses all over the globe.

Warrant

A document issued by a licensed LME warehouse, by means of which the ownership of a certain quantity of metal is assigned to the person named on the front page of the warrant.

Wire bars

Electrolyte copper in the form of wire bars in standard dimensions (unit weight 90-125 kg.) Is only produced in very few countries.

Kupfer ABC

Wissenswertes über den Kupfermarkt.

Ob als Kathode oder Gießwalzdraht – Kupfer ist ein begehrter Rohstoff.

Kupfer ist aktuell das wichtigste Industriemetall. Ob für Kabel, Transformatoren, Elektromotoren oder in der Informationstechnik – der Kupferbedarf wächst kontinuierlich.

Fakt ist: Weltkonjunktur und Kupferverbrauch hängen eng zusammen und wirken sich unmittelbar auf die verfügbare Menge sowie den Preis an den Rohstoffbörsen aus. Für den europäischen Markt ist die London Metal Exchange, kurz LME genannt, der relevante Handelsplatz.

Rohstoff Kupfer: Kupfer-Nugget, Kupfererz

KUPFERVERBRAUCH

Die Nachfrage nach Kupfer steigt derzeit wieder. Der Aufschwung der Elektromobilität wir in den kommenden Jahren die Kupfernachfrage sicherlich antreiben.

Nach wie vor wird nahezu die Hälfte des weltweit geförderten Kupfers in Asien verarbeitet, wobei China mit einem Anteil von über 48 Prozent als Kupferkonsument eine Schlüsselrolle einnimmt. Die weltweit größten Zentren zur Produktion von Elektrogeräten sowie für die elektrotechnische Industrie haben in Asien ihren Sitz – Tendenz steigend.

KUPFERABBAU

Der bedeutendste Kupferproduzent ist Chile, mit großem Abstand folgen Peru und die USA. In Europa gibt es nennenswerte Vorkommen in Polen, Portugal und Schweden.

Fachbegriffe rund um den Handel an der Metallbörse und den Kupfermarkt auf den Punkt gebracht: Das Kupfer-ABC

Die Sprache im Bereich der Börsianer ist durchaus speziell. Wer sich üblicherweise nicht mit der Metallbörse wie der LME in London auseinandersetzt, kann bei Begrifflichkeiten wie Hedging, Preissicherung und viele andere ins Grübeln kommen. Mit dem Kupfer-ABC wollen wir ein wenig Aufklärungsarbeit leisten.

A

ASTM

The American Society for Testing Materials. Offizielle Stelle in den USA für die Festlegung von Standardwerten für die Reinheit von Metallen und von Normen für Bemusterung und Analyse.

B

Backwardation

Bezeichnung für die Prämie für prompte oder nahegelegene Daten gegenüber Dreimonate oder spätere Daten. Für die Backwardation gibt es keine Begrenzung. (Backwardation wie Contango (siehe dort) können für verschiedene Tage innerhalb der betreffenden Terminperiode nach oben oder unten besonders stark ausgeprägt sein; sie müssen von Kasse bis Dreimonate nicht linear aufgeteilt verlaufen.)

Barren

siehe Wirebars

Bestände

siehe Stocks

BSI

The Bristish Standards Institute, die offizielle Stelle in Großbritannien für die Festlegung von Standardwerten für die Reinheit von Metallen und von Normen für ihre Bemusterung und Analyse.

Brand

Sämtliche Börsenmetalle müssen als “good delivery” vom LME Komitee markenmäßig registriert sein. (Listed Brand) Verschiedene Spezifikationen oder Qualitäten der Marke einer bestimmten Hütte oder Raffinerie sind in der Regel durch unterschiedliche Markierungen erkennbar.

Bull (Bulle)

Jemand, der steigende Preise erwartet.

C

Cash

Ein LME-Kontrakt, der am folgenden Tag zur Abrechnung kommt.

Comex

Commodity Exchange. New Yorker Metallbörse

Contango

Prämie für Dreimonate oder spätere Termine gegenüber Kasse oder nahen Lieferterminen.Sie stellt die sich aus Zinsen, Lagerhausmiete und Versicherung zusammensetzenden Kosten für die Zeit dar, in der das Metall für den Käufer aufbewahrt wird. Das Contango ist daher nach oben begrenzt.

D

DEL-NOTIZ

Deutsche Elektrolytkupfernotiz für Leitzwecke. Anhand der offiziellen Notierungen an der LME umgerechneter Wert. Grundlage vieler Kupferabrechnungen in Deutschland.

H

Hedging

Abdeckung einer künftigen Verpflichtung in physischem Metall, indem an der Börse eine gegenläufige Verpflichtung für die gleiche Menge und zum gleichen Termin eingegangen wird.Verluste auf der einen Seite werden durch Gewinne auf der anderen Seite ausgeglichen.

K

Kathode

Elektrolytkupfer mit mind. 99,99% CU in Form einer Kathode. Vorprodukt für die Herstellung von z.B. Gießwalzdraht.

Kerb

(engl.Randstein) Handel zwischen Ringmitgliedern im Ring oder im Börsensaal – und daher öffentlich, jedoch außerhalb der offiziellen Mittags- oder inoffiziellen Nachmittagssitzungen, aber unter Beachtung der förmlichen Verhaltensregeln. (Der Begriff stammt aus der Zeit, an der nach den Börsensitzungen vor der LME auf der Straße weitergehandelt wurde.)

Kupferabbau, Kupfermine, Rohstoff Kupfer
L

Lagerhaus

siehe Warehouse

LME

London Metal Exchange, die Londoner Metallbörse.

Long

Terminkauf an der Börse, durch den der Betreffende für einen bestimmten Termin in Metall “long” geht. Dies kann spekulativ in Erwartung steigender Preise geschehen, um die Kaufposition zu günstigeren Preisen wieder zu verkaufen, oder es kann sich um eine Börsenabdeckung für eine entgegengesetzte Verpflichtung in physischem Metall handeln.

Los

Mengeneinheit für den Handel an der LME. 1 Los = 25 to.

M

Marke

siehe Brand

Metallbörse

Metallbörsen, an denen ein liquider Markt für Kupfer existiert, gibt es in London (LME) und in New York (Comex). Die Preise der Comex haben im Prinzip Gültigkeit für Lieferungen in den nordamerikanischen Märkten, die der LME für den Rest der Welt.

MK-Notiz

Von der Firma Kabelmetall herausgegebene Notierung für Kupfer.

P

Pre-market

Geschäfte der Ringmitglieder untereinander oder zwischen Ringmit- gliedern und ihren Kunden, die telefonisch vor Beginn der offiziellen Ringsitzung abgeschlossen werden. (Vorbörse)

Pricing

Benutzung der offiziellen LME-Notierungen oder ihres Durchschnitts für eine bestimmte Periode als Basispreis für physisches Metall.

Prompt date

Der Tag (immer ein Werktag), an dem ein LME-Kontrakt fällig wird.

R

Ring

Ort im Londoner Börsengebäude der LME an der die offizielle Börsensitzung abgehalten wird. (Die Metallhändler sitzen in einer roten Ledercouch, die die Form eines Ringes hat)

Ringhandelszeit

Die Ringhandelszeiten für Kupfer sind wie folgt: 12.00-12.05 / 12.30-12.35 15.30-15.35 / 16.10-16.15 (Die Zeiten beziehen sich auf die Ortszeit von London)

S

Semis

Metallhalbzeug wie Rohre, Stangen etc.

Settlement Price

Der offizielle Kasse-Verkäuferpreis am Schluß des zweiten Rings der offiziellen Mittagsbörse. Wird als Basispreis für außerhalb der LME abgeschlossene physische Metallgeschäfte benutzt. Unter anderem auch Grundlage für die Berechnung der DEL-Notierung.

Short

Leerverkauf auf Termin, das Gegenteil von “Long” .

Stocks

Metall auf Lagerschein in einem offiziellen LME-Lagerhaus. Die LME-Stocks, deren Gesamtmenge bzw. die Veränderung täglich veröffentlicht wird, gehören nicht der Börse, sondern den Inhabern der Lagerscheine (Warrant).

W

Warehouse

Überdachter Lagerraum mit angemessenen Sicherheitsvorschriften, der nach Inspektion durch die LME als offizielles LME-Lagerhaus registriert worden ist. Lizensierte LME-Lagerhäuser sind mittlerweile über den gesamten Globus verteilt.

Warrant

Ein von einem lizensierten LME-Lagerhaus ausgestelltes Dokument, durch welches das Eigentum an einer bestimmten Menge Metall auf eine auf der Vorderseite des Warrants genannte Person übertragen wird.

Wirebars

Elektrolytkupfer in Form von Drahtbarren in Standardabmessungen (Stückgewicht 90-125 kg.) Wird nur noch in sehr wenigen Ländern produziert.